EDUCATION.

and 352 attending its short courses during the year. The principal of the college is also secretary of agriculture for the province. The Nova Scotia Technical College, established in 1907 at Halifax, is affiliated to the numerous universities of the Atlantic provinces, which have agreed to teach the first two years of the course, leaving only the last two years, which require the more expensive equipment, for the provincial institution. The three buildings, with their laboratories and apparatus, cost about \$275,000; they provide facilities for scientific research and professional training in civil, mining, mechanical, chemical and electrical engineering, architecture, navigation, etc. The principal of the college is also director of technical education for the province. Coal mining and engineering schools are provided at the greater industrial centres; and local evening technical schools are established in the more populous centres.

NEW BRUNSWICK.

General Organization.—The public schools of New Brunswick are free and non-sectarian. School privileges are provided free to all children resident in a district between the ages of six and twenty. The Board of Education, with the Chief Superintendent of Education as secretary, is in supreme control of the public schools. The board is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor, the members of the Executive Council, the Chancellor of the University of New Brunswick, and the Chief Superintendent of Education. Three members of the Executive, with the chairman (who must be the Lieutenant-Governor, or, in his absence, the premier) and the Chief Superintendent of Education, constitute a quorum.

Courses of Instruction.—The common school course includes the first eight grades of instruction. The high school course provides for work beyond the eighth grade, and prepares students for the university.

School Districts.—A rural school district must contain an area of at least three and one-half square miles, or must have at least fifty children of school age. Each city and town is usually a school district. In rural districts, schools are under the control of a board of trustees, consisting of three ratepayers of the district, elected for a term of three years. In cities and towns, the boards of trustees consist of from nine to eleven members, the majority of whom are appointed by the city or town council, and the remainder by the Executive Council of the province. Two of the members may be women, one appointed by the city or town council and one by the Executive Council.

The school year technically begins on July 1 and ends on June 30, and is divided into two terms, one beginning about August 26 and ending on the Friday preceding Christmas week, and the other beginning early in January and ending June 30. There are eight weeks vacation in summer, beginning July 1, and two weeks in winter, between terms. There is also an Easter vacation, extending from Good Friday until the following Wednesday. A compulsory attendance law becomes operative only when adopted by the annual school meeting, which is held on the second Monday in July, or when adopted by the city or town council in urban school districts.